Unexcused Absences

When a student accumulates a total of three (3) days of unexcused absence, a FIRST NOTICE (letter) is delivered to the parents by mail and/or school meetings.  This is a state requirement in compliance with the Compulsory Attendance Laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Any additional day(s) of unlawful absence following the receipt of this letter may result in a fine(s).

The following reasons are not legal absences in accordance with state law:

• Truancy
• Missing the school bus
• Trips not approved in advance
• Shopping
• Birthdays, anniversaries, or other celebrations
• Working or job hunting
• Oversleeping
• Obtaining driver’s permit
• Babysitting or translating

Penalties for Unexcused Absences
When a student accumulates a total of three (3) days of unexcused absence, a FIRST NOTICE (certified letter) is delivered to parent/guardian.

This is a state requirement in compliance with Compulsory Attendance Laws of Pennsylvania. Any additional unexcused absence(s) following receipt of this letter may result in fine(s) from $300-$750 per violation, community service, parenting program, and referral to Children & Youth Services.